UEFA Champions League News: Chelsea Exit despite Big Win, Celtic Clinch Qualifier, Man Utd Lose To Cluj

Updated: December 10, 2012

Juventus, Celtic and Galatasaray have officially confirmed their qualification to the UEFA Champions League round of 16. Chelsea failed to qualify despite a wide margin over Nordsjaelland, while Manchester United lost their home game to CFR Cluj-Napoca.

Chelsea 6-1 Nordsjaelland


Reigning European champions Chelsea will not stand for title defence this season as they fell out of qualification through Juventus’ 1-0 win over Shakhtar Donetsk. Nevertheless, the Blues thrashed Danish opponents Nordsjaelland 6-1 at Stamford Bridge.

David Luiz opened scoring through a 39th-minute penalty kick. Fernando Torres slotted the second one before half time. Joshua John’s strike for the Danish outfit failed to match up Chelsea’s as goals from Gary Cahill, Juan Mata, Oscar and another one from Torres came in.


Celtic 2-1 Spartak Moscow


Scottish champions Chelsea continued their favourable European run by winning against Spartak Moscow 2-1. The Bhoys effectively gained qualification to the competition’s round of 16 through a late penalty converted by Kris Commons.

Gary Hooper gave Celtic the lead after going past through Spartak’s unstable defence. Ari fired to equalize for the Russian capital club. Georgios Samaras suffered a foul from Marek Suchy, which led to an 82nd-minute penalty-turned winner by Commons.


Manchester United 0-1 CFR Cluj-Napoca


Romanian outfit CFR Cluj-Napoca gave Manchester United thoughts to ponder on in time for Sunday’s Manchester Derby against Manchester City as they beat the Red Devils 0-1 at Old Trafford.

The game saw its lone goal come from Cluj’s Luis Alberto. Nevertheless, United have qualified automatically to the competition’s next round, although further concerns on their defence loom, especially with complains from manager Sir Alex Ferguson.


Champions League Qualifiers (complete list as of 12/6/2012)


Group A: Paris Saint-Germain, Porto

Group B: Schalke 04, Arsenal

Group C: Malaga, AC Milan

Group D: Borussia Dortmund, Real Madrid

Group E: Shakhtar Donetsk, Juventus

Group F: Bayern Munich, Valencia

Group G: Barcelona, Celtic

Group H: Manchester United, Galatasaray