Team Review: RCD Espanyol in the 2013-14 Season

Updated: July 30, 2014
RCD Espanyol in the 2013-14 Season

La Liga Finish: 14th

Match Results: W11-D9-L18

(Featured image: Espanyol | Source:


Espanyol almost replicated their performance from the 2012-13 season to the last season, where they finished both terms in the lower mid-table. The side’s most recent campaign was generally lukewarm and was neither disappointing nor impressive. They obtained 11 wins, nine draws, and 18 defeats in 38 appearances. With this record, they only picked up 42 points overall to rank above Granada (15th) but below Getafe (13th).


During the summer transfer window, Espanyol carried out numerous signings. The list included Manu Lanzarote from Sabadell, David Lopez from Huesca, Juan Rafael Fuentes from Cordoba, and Alex Fernandez from Real Madrid Castilla, among others. A few players also returned from their loan spell in other clubs, namely Thievy Bifouma from Las Palmas and Juan Angel Albin and Adrian Luna from Club Nacional. Notable exits included Joan Verdu to Real Betis, Wakaso Mubarak to Rubin Kazan, and Juan Forlin to Al Rayyan.


At the start of the season, Periquitos had the real chance at ending the competition within the upper half and were the usual betting favorites in online bookie’s charts. They debuted with two draws and three wins in their first five matches, ranking them as high as fifth placers. However, inconsistency was a major debacle in their form, and while they managed to remain afloat off the relegation zone, they failed to maintain their lead. Fluctuations in results led them to rank outside the top 10 and by the competition’s closing, they only ranked 14th—their lowest position in the entire season.


Only one player from Sergio Soriano’s side managed to score more than 10 goals throughout the season. Team captain Sergio Garcia found the net 12 times and while this sounds impressive, he was not among the 10 top players in the competition. Other notable scorers from the squad were Cristhian Stuani (6), Victor Sanchez (4), and Deigo Colotto (4).