Team Review: Swansea City in the 2013-14 Season

Updated: July 17, 2014
Swansea City in the 2013-14 Season

Premier League Finish: 16th

Match Results: W10-D7-L21

(Featured image: Swansea City | Source:


Swansea City narrowly skipped relegation following a generally unimpressive season in the Premier League. The side went on to rank only at the 16th spot by the season’s closing and recorded more defeats than their wins and draws combined. This was in spite of their pre-season efforts to boost the squad’s power rating by signing plenty of new players, including high-profile ones.


Swansea broke personal club records with a £12-million deal with Ivorian striker Wilfried Bony and a £5-million offer to Liverpool midfielder Jonjo Shelvey. Jordi Amat from Espanyol, Jose Canas from Real Betis, Jernade Meade from Arsenal, and five others also signed during the summer window. Only two players exited from the side during this period: Kemy Agustien and Luke Moore.


The Jacks had a dismaying start in the season after they conceded four goals and succumbed to defending champions and perennial online betting top dogs Manchester United. This was followed by another defeat from Tottenham Hotspur who won the tilt on a clean sheet. Swansea obtained their first win in the season on 01 September 2013 when they thrashed West Brom over a two-goal lead. They achieved their best victory the following month with an impressive 4-0 finish against Sunderland (whom they also inflicted a 1-3 thumping in their final fixture). However, they incurred plenty of downfalls which made their form among the least attractive in the table. They were rendered goalless by the likes of Southampton, Chelsea, and eventual winners Manchester City.


At the FA Cup, Swansea only reached the fifth round while in the League Cup, they managed to advance to Round 3. Additionally, they were unable to get past the Round of 32 in the UEFA Europa League.


As expected, Bony finished the season as the side’s top scoring player. He scored 25 goals in all competitions, nearly two-thirds of which were netted in the English top-flight football. Jonathan de Guzman came in second with seven while Jonjo Shelvey, Michu, Nathan Dyer, and Wayne Routledge scored six goals apiece.